The Arrangement (Principles, Practice & Explanation) – trial

The Bible with 66 books in it is like a library that is arranged in different groups. These books are not arranged chronologically. The groupings vary according to which collection we are referring to: The Protestant Bible, The Catholic Bible, the Hebrew Old Testament, the Septuagint etc. 
A better understanding of the Bible and how it fits together is dependent on an understanding of these groupings and their arrangement. 
The Old Testament is arranged according to the TANAKH 
These are the division of books as they are arranged in the Hebrew Old Testament that consists of the Books of the Law, the Prophets and the Writings. TaNaKh is an abbreviation that stands for: 
Ta : Representing Torah or The Law 
Na : Representing Nevi’im or The Prophets 
Kh : Representing Kethuvim or The Writings 
These three groupings are the way in which the Jews view and talk about the Old Testament. This approach is often used by the New Testament writers when referring to the Old Testament or when giving proof or reference to something. Frequently there will be a quote from each section of the Ta Na Kh to add weight to the particular truth from the Old Testament. To include all three sections indicates that the idea is found in every section. 
a. Ta – Torah – The Law (The Books of The Law) 
In all groupings the five books of the Torah are always listed in the same order: 
Genesis : Bereishit (“In the Beginning) 
Exodus : Shemot (“Names”) 
Leviticus : Vayikra (“And He Calls”) 
Numbers : Bamidbar (“In the Desert”) 
Deuteronomy : Devarim (“Words”) 
The five books of the Torah are always the first grouping in the Hebrew Old Testament. These books do not have the same names in Hebrew (See above). 
b. Na – Nevi’im – The Prophets (The Books of The Prophets) 
The next grouping in the Hebrew Old Testament is The Prophets (Nevi’im) but surprisingly it is not just the prophetic books as we Christians know them. The collection begins with the historical books but then adds the books of the prophets. But some books are not included or are packaged differently. 
Prophets and Prophecy 
The reason why the historical and prophetic books are combined and classified under The Prophets is because of the Jewish view of history and their understanding of prophecy. 
The Jews group history and prophecy together. History is what happened in the past, and prophecy relates to what will happen in the future. But many prophecies are written in the perfect completed tense, as though they have already happened, yet they are prophetic and still to happen. This is called the prophetic perfect tense. The Jews view history as fulfilled prophecy and prophecy is history which is still to happen but is certain to happen because God said it. If God has said it, it is as good as done. 
But there is an important distinction between them. The books of history are not always arranged in chronological order. The Prophetic books are arranged in order of size. Therefore you need some help to fit the prophetic books in the right chronological order. The size is not according to the importance of the prophet but the length of the book. 
c. Kh – Kethuvim – The Writings 
The remaining books in the Hebrew Old Testament are found under The Writings (Kethuvim). These books are predominantly poetic form or apocalyptic writing, classified under the term The Writings. They are all placed at the end of the Hebrew Old Testament 
It is helpful to think of the Writings as being poetry. What is poetry and its function? 
It is social comment on what things are like as they are or people’s response to something they have experienced. Thinking of the Writings in that way is helpful. Consider Chronicles, the Psalms and Proverbs, Ecclesiastes etc as being the (ex)planation as to why things happened as they did. It is even possible to think of Deuteronomy in that way as well. “These things happened to you because you didn’t listen to God’s commands.”